Chickens, children, home life, Homesteading, spirituality, Spring

Spring has Sprung!

Happy Easter, Ostara, Vernal/spring Equinox!! Spring is here! Heading into my least favorite time of the year.. but it still is beautiful and every day and season is a good time to be alive, even if I do prefer the darkness šŸ˜‰

Here is a picture of some of my children and subsequent thangs..

image

Sally is climbing the trees, Fifi and farmer girl Percy posing for a picture. Both in their salt water sandals. I kind of want to get myself a pair!

image

A little sign for the front gate I picked up on amazon.com, wanted to warn people of the probable chicken poo!

image

This is Coco.. don’t remember her breed but she isn’t fond of being picked up!

image

Coco and Cute Chicken behind her.. They are both the same breed and the most skittish. They are still sweet and curious and all the girls follow us around when we are outside.

image

Hi Cute Chicken! šŸ™‚ That is what Persephone named her. And there’s our Peep in the background.

image

Here’s Goldie, she’s a golden sex link and our most outgoing chicken. I usually get to hold her. She is also our most adventurous! Often times she jumps our fence and I will find her wandering the neighbors yards. Sometimes two or three houses over. She even explores the blackberry brambles out back.

image

The only one I didn’t get a close up of was Peep. She is a Silver Laced Wyandotte. She is also pretty personable. You can see her on the far right of the coop. I put a blanket on the roof to help keep heat in during our winter. It was pretty mild here in the Pacific Northwest but we did get some chilly nights. Their coop is under our deck and it is pretty waterproof, so even when it rains little water gets under there.

image

Fresh eggs! Our girls aren’t big on laying in their coop so I have to search the yard for newly preferred nesting spot. They switch it up on me every couple of weeks! It’s like a mini easter eggs hunt, except instead of candy filled eggs I get to find a clutch of these beautiful brown, sometimes spotted, protein filled, treasures..Ā  It’s kind of fun to find the new nest, like finding the pot of gold at the end of the rainbow.

image

I will leave you with a picture of me and my little sweetie, Valentino. He’s wearing one of the little bubble suits that I hand embroider and sell in my etsy shop. I love Peter Rabbit baby things, and Beatrix Potter books and illustrations. To me she captures the true essence of innocence and childhood. Happy Spring to all! May yours be filled with all the lovely things in life!

Standard

2 thoughts on “Spring has Sprung!

    • Yes, I love having them! šŸ™‚ I wanted them for many years but we lived in apartments part of the time. When we finally rented houses I always felt really unprepared. After living in the same house for 3 years last spring I finally just went out and bought some.. šŸ™‚ they are fun to watch cluck around the yard and chase after treats we throw to them. They love grapes and tomatoes. šŸ™‚ sorry for the long reply. They are just fun.

Leave a Reply

